News

238526659_4898382560177370_6415923580294951806_n

by Denis Bourbonnais

More than two years after acquiring Yannick Léger’s “Super Nova” H-21, François Leroux will finally be able to experience his baptism as a hydroplane pilot at the Régates de Beauharnois on September 18 and 19.

At the conclusion of the 2019 season, the Campivallensian of origin took possession of Claude Bergeron’s former “Special Edition”, the last Hydro 350 class boat built by the manufacturer, to realize a childhood dream. Little did François Leroux know at the time that a pandemic would force the cancellation of the next two campaigns in the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL).

“Our team is really looking forward to this adventure,” said the Sherbrooke resident, who has chosen the name “Miss OMG” for “Oh My God” and number 447, “We’ve been thinking about it for two years and preparing for this moment,” added the 53-year-old rookie, who was once a fan of the “Miss Danash” and had his boat painted in colors similar to those of the Grand Prix hydroplane that Jean Théorêt drove in the 1980s.

François Leroux conducted the first test drives of the “H-447” in October 2020 at the Larocque Bridge site. Having recently taken delivery of a new “Primeau Performance” engine, he anticipates returning to the waters of the Beauharnois Canal soon to test the machine before the event at Bourcier Park in mid-September.

For the carpenter by trade, patience will have been rewarded especially since he will be surrounded by his family and friends during this great premiere. His wife Brigitte Payeur as well as his sons Mathieu (22 years old), Xavier (12 years old) and Félix (10 years old) will be part of the team while Benoit Taillefer will act as stable manager and Pierre Maheu will be in charge of radio communications. Jean-François Bernier is the assistant team leader while Pierre Hurteau, Paul Blanchette, Kevin Messier and Maxime Leroux, François’ cousin, complete the team.

Contrary to what was announced earlier this year, François Leroux will not be sharing the wheel of the “Miss OMG” with Benoit Toupin at the Régates de Beauharnois. “In the end, Benoit could not be at the Beauharnois event but the door is open for a possible partnership”, said the owner of “H-447”.

François Leroux appreciated the support shown to him by visitors during the event organized at Delpha-Sauvé Park in mid-July during the weekend when the 2021 Régates de Valleyfield would normally be presented.

“Regatta fans should have a good show in Beauharnois. Most of the Quebec and Ontario teams will be racing as well as some American competitors. We will be there… we have been waiting for this first weekend of racing for a long time,” said François Leroux.

Photo credit: Facebook page of François Leroux

Share

Back to News

Actualité

238526659_4898382560177370_6415923580294951806_n

par Denis Bourbonnais

Plus de deux ans après avoir fait l’acquisition du « Super Nova » H-21 de Yannick Léger, François Leroux pourra finalement vivre son baptême en tant que pilote d’hydroplane aux Régates de Beauharnois, les 18 et 19 septembre prochain.

À la conclusion de la saison 2019, le Campivallensien d’origine a pris possession de l’ancien « Special Edition » de Claude Bergeron, le dernier bateau de classe Hydro 350 fabriqué par le constructeur, afin de réaliser un rêve d’enfance. À ce moment, François Leroux ne se doutait guère qu’une pandémie allait forcer l’annulation des deux prochaines campagnes dans la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL).

« Notre équipe a vraiment hâte de commencer cette aventure », a exprimé le résident de Sherbrooke, qui a retenu le nom de « Miss OMG » pour « Oh My God » et le numéro 447. « Ça fait deux ans qu’on y pense et qu’on se prépare pour ce moment », d’ajouter la recrue de 53 ans, qui a déjà été un fan du « Miss Danash » et qui a fait peindre son embarcation aux couleurs similaires à celles de l’hydroplane Grand Prix que Jean Théorêt a conduit dans les années ’80.

François Leroux a effectué les premiers essais au volant du « H-447 » en octobre 2020 au site du pont Larocque. Ayant récemment pris livraison d’un nouveau moteur « Primeau Performance », il anticipe retourner sur les eaux du canal de Beauharnois d’ici peu afin de tester la machine avant l’événement qui se déroulera au parc Bourcier à la mi-septembre.

Pour le menuisier-charpentier de métier, la patience aura été récompensée d’autant plus qu’il sera entouré de ses proches lors de cette grande première. Sa conjointe Brigitte Payeur ainsi que ses fils Mathieu (22 ans), Xavier (12 ans) et Félix (10 ans) font partie de l’équipe alors que Benoit Taillefer agit comme chef d’écurie et Pierre Maheu va assurer les communications radios. Jean-François Bernier est l’assistant-chef d’équipe pendant que Pierre Hurteau, Paul Blanchette, Kevin Messier et Maxime Leroux, cousin de François, complètent le groupe d’équipiers.

Contrairement à ce qui avait été annoncé plus tôt cette année, François Leroux ne partagera pas le volant du « Miss OMG » avec Benoit Toupin aux Régates de Beauharnois. « Finalement, Benoit ne pouvait être au rendez-vous à Beauharnois mais la porte est ouverte pour un éventuel partenariat », a précisé le propriétaire du «H-447».

François Leroux a bien apprécié l’appui manifesté à son endroit par les visiteurs lors de l’événement organisé au parc Delpha-Sauvé à la mi-juillet durant le week-end où les Régates de Valleyfield 2021 auraient normalement été présentées.

« Les fans de régates devraient avoir un bon spectacle à Beauharnois. La plupart des équipes québécoises et ontariennes participeront aux courses de même que certains compétiteurs américains. Nous y serons… depuis le temps qu’on attend cette première fin de semaine de courses », affirme François Leroux.

Crédit photos: Page Facebook de François Leroux

Partager

Retour à l'actualité