Donald Leduc, Alexis Weber and Rémy Leblanc ended the weekend of races with the most points in their respective class, in Waddington, on the St. Lawrence River.

All three drivers were crowned at the end of the qualifying heats, as the finals were cancelled on Sunday due to heavy rain showers.

In the Formula 2500 class, the defending champion Donald Leduc (F-1 Cannonball) scored a total of 46 points off a possible 50 with a victory in the 1A heat, followed by a second place. Yan Beaupré (F-36) took the latter heat, while Leah Hoosick (F-27) and Yves Villeneuve (F-6) were the other winners.

By the end of the weekend, the podium was composed of Donald Leduc in first place, Guillaume Charette (F-17) and Yves Villeneuve. This win then gives a 45-point lead in the standings to the driver from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, with a total of 463 points, followed by Rob Stevenson (418) and Bobby King (411).

In the 2.5 litre class, Alexis Weber (S-55 My Way) got the best of Claude Abbott (S-67) and Eric McKenna (S-999). The leader in the standings going into Waddington, Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) hit a buoy on his first start on Saturday, before taking the 2A heat on Sunday.

These results erased the 11 points that separated Philippe Billette and Claude Abbott in the standings, so both competitors will be tied in first position with 435 points entering the last event of the season, in Beauharnois. Samuel Tremblay (399), Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (388) and Eric McKenna (361) still have a chance.

Only one qualifying round was completed in the Hydro 350 class, which saw Kent Henderson (H-777), Rémy Leblanc (H-799), Patrick Haworth (H-79) and Derec Smith (H-13) come out victorious. Donny Allen (H-14) was penalized for driving through a forbidden zone before the start of the 1B race, and was therefore denied of his victory. Jonathan Daoust (H-15) illegally changed lanes during the 1D heat, so he ended in last place.

Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Sylvain Dorais (H-32), Mathieu Lemelin (H-7) and Mike Monahan (H-8) took the second position of their heat. David Kidd (H-67) flipped, so his weekend was cut short, but he sustained no injury.

The drivers in the Hydro 350 class will meet one last time at the Régates de Beauharnois on September 3 and 4. Nicolas Rousse, with 483 points, will drive into the Bourcier Park leading in the standings, followed by Rémy Leblanc (441), Derec Smith (430), Kent Henderson (425), Yannick Léger (418), Patrick Haworth (417) and Richard Haineault (387).


Back to News