Presented by

A successful return for the HRL Champions Gala

On Saturday, February 4, at the Hotel Plaza Valleyfield, the Hydroplane Racing League’s (HRL) Champions Gala took place. The event had to be cancelled over the past years because of the sanitary measures in place and the organization was proud to make a grand return after an exceptional season of racing.

With over 300 people in attendance, drivers and racing teams received awards in 12 categories. They were awarded based on performances during the 2022 season on the league’s circuit.

“It is a great feeling to see the racing family reunited for a night! Thanks to each one of them, we got the ball rolling again after a few years of instability. History is very important for the HRL organizing committee, as it allows us to become even better. However, to look towards the future makes us stand out and realize our mission to be the best hydroplane racing league in the world! Well, in 2022, the results were there, as we were very successful, and the gala was the perfect opportunity to highlight it,” happily mentioned Didier-Bernard Séguin, HRL Commissioner.

Winners of the 2022 season

The championship winners are Stéphanie Blain (S-757 Canada Girl) in the 2.5 liters class, Steve Armstrong (F-92 Tenacity) in the Formula 2500 class, Tyler Kaddatz (H-195 Ahh Sum Secret) in the Hydro 350 class, and Andrew Tate (GP-777 Steeler) in the Grand Prix class.

Michael Tremblay (H-8 Last Minute Again) was named Most improved, Tyler Kaddatz (H-195 Ahh Sum Secret) won in the Best start in a superior class category, and Yannick Léger (GP-21 Supernova) was awarded Best ambassador.

Two categories were subjected to the votes of the racing teams. After tallying the votes, the GP-777 Steeler was named Team of the year and Mike Geblein, with the GP-777 Steeler, was crowned Crew member of the year.

Finally, the award for Rookie of the year was given to Eddie Kanfoush (S-50 Miss Behaved), while Andrew Tate (GP-777 Steeler) was named Driver of the year.

A category in memory of great drivers

This year, the organization awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards to drivers who have left a mark on the HRL’s history. The first award was given in memory of Ken Brodie Sr. who was involved for over 60 years within the hydroplane racing family with the GP-50. It is of note that Mr. Brodie Sr. was about to receive this award at the 2020 Gala, which was supposed to take place a few days after his passing.

The second award was given in memory of Mike Endres, a very successful owner and 3rd generation driver. He was also the heart of the GP-777 team.

These two members of the HRL family sadly passed away in 2020, but will always stay in hydroplane racing fans’ memories.

New at the Régates de Valleyfield in 2023 – North American Championship

This upcoming season, the North American Championship of the Grand Prix class will be disputed at the Régates de Valleyfield, on July 14, 15 and 16. This competition is open to all Grand Prix-type hydroplanes and is not only restricted to HRL boats.

The complete calendar for the league’s 2023 season is now available . Races begin on May 20 and 21 in Cambridge (USA) and the season ends in mid-September.