News

WA160075

Donald Leduc, Alexis Weber and Rémy Leblanc ended the weekend of races with the most points in their respective class, in Waddington, on the St. Lawrence River.

All three drivers were crowned at the end of the qualifying heats, as the finals were cancelled on Sunday due to heavy rain showers.

In the Formula 2500 class, the defending champion Donald Leduc (F-1 Cannonball) scored a total of 46 points off a possible 50 with a victory in the 1A heat, followed by a second place. Yan Beaupré (F-36) took the latter heat, while Leah Hoosick (F-27) and Yves Villeneuve (F-6) were the other winners.

By the end of the weekend, the podium was composed of Donald Leduc in first place, Guillaume Charette (F-17) and Yves Villeneuve. This win then gives a 45-point lead in the standings to the driver from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, with a total of 463 points, followed by Rob Stevenson (418) and Bobby King (411).

In the 2.5 litre class, Alexis Weber (S-55 My Way) got the best of Claude Abbott (S-67) and Eric McKenna (S-999). The leader in the standings going into Waddington, Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) hit a buoy on his first start on Saturday, before taking the 2A heat on Sunday.

These results erased the 11 points that separated Philippe Billette and Claude Abbott in the standings, so both competitors will be tied in first position with 435 points entering the last event of the season, in Beauharnois. Samuel Tremblay (399), Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (388) and Eric McKenna (361) still have a chance.

Only one qualifying round was completed in the Hydro 350 class, which saw Kent Henderson (H-777), Rémy Leblanc (H-799), Patrick Haworth (H-79) and Derec Smith (H-13) come out victorious. Donny Allen (H-14) was penalized for driving through a forbidden zone before the start of the 1B race, and was therefore denied of his victory. Jonathan Daoust (H-15) illegally changed lanes during the 1D heat, so he ended in last place.

Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Sylvain Dorais (H-32), Mathieu Lemelin (H-7) and Mike Monahan (H-8) took the second position of their heat. David Kidd (H-67) flipped, so his weekend was cut short, but he sustained no injury.

The drivers in the Hydro 350 class will meet one last time at the Régates de Beauharnois on September 3 and 4. Nicolas Rousse, with 483 points, will drive into the Bourcier Park leading in the standings, followed by Rémy Leblanc (441), Derec Smith (430), Kent Henderson (425), Yannick Léger (418), Patrick Haworth (417) and Richard Haineault (387).

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

waddington-remy-leblanc

Donald Leduc, Alexis Weber et Rémy Leblanc ont réussi  les meilleures performances aux Régates de Waddington (N.Y.) qui se sont déroulées ce week-end sur la rivière St. Lawrence.

Les trois pilotes ont été déclarés vainqueurs à l’issue des épreuves de qualification dans leur classe respective alors que les fortes pluies ont forcé l’annulation des finales de dimanche.

En Formule 2500, le champion défendant Donald Leduc (F-1 Cannonball) a récolté 46 points sur une possibilité de 50 en vertu d’une victoire dans la course 1A et d’une 2e position (2B). Yan Beaupré (F-36) a remporté cette épreuve tandis que Leah Hoosick (F-27) et Yves Villeneuve (F-6) ont été les autres gagnants.

Au cumulatif de la fin de semaine, Donald Leduc devance Guillaume Charette (F-17) et Yves Villeuneuve. Ce résultat a permis au pilote campivallensien d’augmenter son avance à 45 points au sommet du championnat avec un total de 463 points devant Rob Stevenson (418) et Bobby King (411).

Dans la classe 2,5 litres, c’est Alexis Weber (S-55 My Way) qui a eu le meilleur sur Claude Abbott (S-67) et Eric McKenna (S-999). Le meneur au classement, Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) a heurté une bouée à son premier départ, samedi, avant de s’imposer dans la qualification 2A, dimanche.

Claude Abbott a effacé l’écart de 11 points qui le séparait de Philippe Billette en tête en classement et les deux principaux aspirants au championnat seront à égalité au sommet avec 435 points quand ils se pointeront à Beauharnois pour le rendez-vous décisif de la saison. Samuel Tremblay (399), Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (388) et Eric McKenna (361) sont toujours dans le coup.

Une seule vague de qualification a été disputée en Hydro 350 qui a été marquée par les victoires de Kent Henderson (H-777), Rémy Leblanc (H-799), Patrick Haworth (H-79) et Derec Smith (H-13). Une pénalité a été décernée à Donny Allen (H-14) pour avoir passé dans une zone interdite avant le départ de la course 1B, ce qui l’a privé d’une première place. Jonathan Daoust (H-15) n’aurait pas gardé son couloir dans l’épreuve 1D et il a été relégué à la dernière place.

Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Sylvain Dorais (H-32), Mathieu Lemelin (H-7) et Mike Monahan (H-8) ont décroché une 2e position. Dave Kidd (H-67) a pour sa part fait une envolée et son week-end a pris fin abruptement, même s’il a été épargné des blessures.

Les pilotes de la classe H-350 se retrouveront une dernière fois aux Régates de Beauharnois, les 3 et 4 septembre. Nicolas Rousse, avec 483 points, se présentera au parc Bourcier au sommet du classement devant Rémy Leblanc (441), Derec Smith (430), Kent Henderson (425), Yannick Léger (418) Patrick Haworth (417) et Richard Haineault (387).

 

Partager

Retour à l'actualité