News

phil-billette

Eric Langevin and Philippe Billette, two drivers from the province of Quebec, were victorious for the very first time of the season in their respective classes, this Sunday, at Thunder on the Niagara, in Tonawanda (NY), near Buffalo.

What was bound to happen finally did in the Grand Prix class, when Eric Langevin came out on top in the finals, following several successful runs in the past few weeks.

The driver from Mercier capitalized on a great start, as he and his GP-12 Long Shot were starting from the 2nd lane. Langevin raced all the way to the top of the podium, resisting a persistent Tom Pakradooni aboard the GP-88 Rolling Thunder. The former completed the four laps in 2 m 31 s, 16, more than three seconds in front of his rival from Pennsylvania.

“This moment is a long time coming. Winning a Grand Prix final is a dream come true”, said Eric Langevin after jumping in the agitated waters of the Niagara River. “I had to be extremely focused the whole time because we were not racing in the best conditions and Tom (Pakradooni) was chasing me all along from the inner lane”, he added before celebrating with his wife and crew.

Marty Wolfe (GP-93), Mathieu Daoust (GP-9), Mario Blain (GP-757) and Martin Rochon (GP-77) followed to the finish line in that order. Ken Brodie, the local favourite, was forced to forfeit aboard the GP-50 Intensity. Mathieu Daoust had to take the start from the second line because of a controversial decision that took away his victory in the Saturday 1B qualifying heat.

Bert Henderson, the winner of all three finals presented by the Hydroplane Racing League before this weekend, ended his winning streak as the engine of the GP-777 Steeler did not make it through the 2A heat held early on Sunday. Brandon Kennedy (GP-25) was stopped by a defective helm and Bertrand Dulude (GP-48) was bothered by mechanical problems and forfeited on Saturday.

Philippe Billette wins

In the 2.5 litre class, Philippe Billette was collecting victories, but finally reached the top of the podium in the finals behind the wheel of the S-7 Air Speed. The driver from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield ended with a three-second lead over Kevin Smith (S-26), from Massachusetts, followed by Claude Abbott (S-67), Tommy Shannon (S-4), Philippe Cardinal (S-222) and Sébastien Leduc (S-100), who was penalized.

In the Hydro 350 class, the Hendersons fought closely until the end, but Kent pushed the H-777 Team Toban to a third win in a row this season. His brother Bert was driving the H-12 Pleasure Seekers and offered an exciting challenge to the leader until mechanical problems forced him to stop mid-race. Donny Allen took the second position with the H-14 Legacy 1, followed by Patrick Haworth (H-79), Jonathan Daoust (H-15), Sylvain Dorais (H-32), Rémy Leblanc (H-799) and Michel Raymond (H-71).

The Formula 2500 class saw a first-time winner this season take the honors as Douglas Rapp (F-79) crossed the finish line in front of Donald Leduc (F-1), Yan Lecompte (F-28) and Bobby Kennedy (F-9). The latter completed the race with a giant hole in the hull of the Rewinder.

Bobby King (F-242) and Yan Beaupré (F-36) were too quick on the start of the final, which turned out to be restarted. Rob Stevenson (F-10) put out the beginning of a fire the first time around, while Tyler Kaddatz (F-519) lost control of his hydroplane in the first turn on the second start.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

phil-billette

Les Québécois Eric Langevin et Philippe Billette ont vécu leur jour de gloire en triomphant pour la première fois dans leur classe respective, dimanche, aux Régates de Tonawanda (N.Y.) en banlieue de Buffalo.

Il fallait que ça arrive tôt ou tard dans la classe Grand Prix avec les récents succès d’Eric Langevin qui a finalement pu savourer la victoire dans l’épreuve ultime d’un événement après être venu près à quelques reprises cette saison.

Le pilote de Mercier a pris un départ canon à partir du 2e corridor et il a mené son GP-12 Long Shot au cercle des vainqueurs en résistant aux assauts de Tom Pakradooni à bord du GP-88 Rolling Thunder. Langevin a complété les quatre tours de la finale en 2 m 31 s,16 pour devancer son adversaire de la Pennsylvanie par un peu plus de trois secondes.

« J’attendais ce moment depuis longtemps. C’est un rêve de gagner en Grand Prix », a déclaré Eric Langevin après avoir fait une baignade dans les eaux agitées de la rivière Niagara. « Je devais garder ma concentration car les conditions étaient difficiles et Tom (Pakradooni) m’a pourchassé tout au long de la course dans le couloir intérieur », devait signifier celui qui a sauté au cou de ses équipiers et de sa femme.

Marty Wolfe (GP-93), Mathieu Daoust (GP-9), Mario Blain (GP-757) et Martin Rochon (GP-77) ont suivi au fil d’arrivée tandis que le favori local, Ken Brodie, a été contraint à l’abandon au volant du GP-50 Intensity . Mathieu Daoust a dû s’élancer en retrait derrière le peloton à la suite d’une décision controversée qui l’a privé d’une victoire dans la qualification 1B de samedi.

Bert Henderson, vainqueur des trois finales disputées en 2016 sur le circuit de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL, a vu s’arrêter sa séquence victorieuse quand le moteur du GP-777 Steeler a flanché dans la course 2A plus tôt dans la journée de dimanche. Brandon Kennedy (GP-25), stoppé par le bris du gouvernail de son embarcation, et Bertrand Dulude (GP-48), qui a connu des ennuis mécaniques, ont vu leur week-end prendre fin samedi.

Philippe Billette l’emporte

Dans la classe 2,5 litres, Philippe Billette a fait suivre ses nombreux podiums par un premier triomphe dans une finale aux commandes du S-7 Air Speed. Le coureur de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield a éclipsé Kevin Smith (S-26) du Massachusetts par 3 secondes alors que Claude Abbott (S-67), Tommy Shannon (S-4), Philippe Cardinal (S-222) et Sébastien Leduc (S-100), qui a été pénalisé, ont occupé les positions subséquentes.

En Hydro 350, la bataille des Henderson a tourné à l’avantage de Kent qui a poussé le H-777 Team Toban à un 3e gain d’affilée cette saison. Son frère Bert, qui pilotait le H-12 Pleasure Seekers, lui a livré une forte opposition pendant la moitié de l’épreuve avant de s’immobiliser. Donny Allen a pris le 2e rang dans le H-14 Legacy 1, suivi de Patrick Haworth (H-79), Jonathan Daoust (H-15), Sylvain Dorais (H-32), Rémy Leblanc (H-799) et Michel Raymond (H-71).

La classe Formule 2500 a été l’affaire de Douglas Rapp (F-79) qui a remporté une première finale cette saison devant Donald Leduc (F-1), Yan Lecompte (F-28) et Bobby Kennedy (F-9) qui a fini la course avec trou béant sur l’arrière droit de la coque du Rewinder.

Bobby King (F-242) et Yan Beaupré (F-36) ont devancé le départ de la finale qui a été reprise deux fois. Rob Stevenson (F-10) a dû éteindre un début d’incendie à la première occasion et Tyler Kaddatz (F-519) a fait une embardée dans le virage initial au second départ.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité