News

Pierre Maheu Photo: Pierre Langevin

By Denis Bourbonnais

2016 marks the return of a respected champion on the North-American motorboat circuit, as Pierre Maheu comes back as a Grand Prix class driver. The athlete from Saint-Michel, in Napierville, will co-drive the GP-50 Intensity with Ken Brodie II, from Grand Island (NY).

A three-time season champion between 2008 and 2011, Maheu will sit in the Henderson-made hull for the Canadian portion of the new Hydroplane Racing League’s 2016 calendar. Brodie will race through the American leg of the HRL circuit. For the 78th edition of the Régates de Valleyfield, the American will drive the GP-50 during the Friday heats, while Maheu will take his place inside the boat for the Saturday and Sunday races.

“I am extremely excited to be back on the HRL circuit. I have to thank Ken Brodie and his team for putting their trust in me”, said Pierre Maheu, who was crowned Grand Prix champion of the 2008 and 2011 editions of the Régates de Valleyfield. Known for his fighting spirit, courage and strong-mindedness, he triumphantly returned in 2010 after a serious accident, from which he sustained multiple fractures the year before.

Maheu once again surprised everyone in 2011 when he won a third championship with a new hull. The experts had wrongfully criticized him for not riding the same boat that had brought him his previous successes.

Ken Brodie II cited personal reasons to justify his decision. “Hydroplane racing has been my number one priority for the past 23 years. As I am approaching my 50th birthday, I decided to re-equilibrate my life. My children will soon graduate and I do not want to miss out on some important moments. With Pierre’s addition to the team, I can have the best of both worlds. I can take a few weekends off and my team can count on a first class driver”, he explained.

His father, Ken Brodie Sr. will still look over the team and attend every HRL events, as will each member of the GP-50 Intensity team.

“The return of Pierre Maheu is great news for the HRL. He is one of the best drivers on water and is always available for his partners and the fans. His professionalism and charisma have always been appreciated”, said the HRL General Manager, Michel Poirier.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/5/13/le-retour-d-un-grand-champion0.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

Pierre Maheu Crédit photo: Pierre Langevin

Par Denis Bourbonnais

L’année 2016 marquera le retour d’un grand champion sur le circuit motonautique nord-américain alors que Pierre Maheu reprend du service en tant que pilote de la classe Grand Prix. Le coureur de Saint-Michel dans la région de Napierville partagera le volant de l’embarcation GP-50 Intensity avec son propriétaire, Ken Brodie II, de Grand Island (N.Y.).

Trois fois champion des points entre 2008 et 2011, Maheu sera aux commandes du bateau de conception Henderson lors des événements canadiens de la nouvelle Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes au cours de la prochaine saison. Brodie reste le conducteur du bolide pour les compétitions américaines de la HRL. Aux 78e Régates de Valleyfield, le coureur américain prendra le volant du GP-50 lors de la journée du vendredi pendant que Maheu occupera le cockpit du bateau le samedi et le dimanche.

«Je suis très excité de revenir sur le circuit de la HRL. Je remercie Ken Brodie et son équipe de me faire confiance», a exprimé Pierre Maheu, qui a remporté le Grand Prix de Valleyfield en 2008 et 2011. Reconnu pour sa combativité, son courage et sa force de caractère, il avait effectué un retour triomphal en 2010 après avoir été victime d’un sérieux accident lui causant de multiples fractures, l’année précédente.

Maheu a encore déjoué les pronostics en 2011 quand il a décroché un 3e titre avec une nouvelle coque pour faire taire les experts qui affirmaient qu’il avait commis une erreur en abandonnant le bateau champion.

Ken Brodie II a pour sa part évoqué des raisons familiales pour justifier sa décision. «Les courses d’hydroplanes ont été ma priorité durant les 23 dernières années. À l’approche de la cinquantaine, j’ai décidé de donner plus d’équilibre à ma vie. Mes enfants vont bientôt graduer et je ne peux rater certaines de leurs activités. Avec l’arrivée de Pierre (Maheu), je peux m’offrir le meilleur des deux mondes. Je prends une pause tout en permettant à l’équipe de compter sur un pilote de premier plan», a-t-il expliqué.

Le paternel, Ken Brodie Sr continuera de veiller au bon fonctionnement de l’équipe et il sera présent à tous les événements de la HRL tout comme les membres existants de l’écurie GP-50 Intensity.

«Le retour de Pierre Maheu est une grande nouvelle pour la HRL. Tout en étant l’un des meilleurs pilotes sur les plans d’eau, Pierre est toujours disponible pour ses partenaires et ses fans. Il saura plaire avec son approche professionnelle et son charisme», a déclaré le directeur général de la HRL, Michel Poirier.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/5/13/le-retour-d-un-grand-champion0.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité