News

gp-be162645

ptember 4th marked the last day of competition on the Hydroplane Racing League’s (HRL) 2016 calendar. Didier-Bernard Séguin, its commissioner, makes an assessment of the first season under the new operational framework.

Created from the Canadian Hydroplane Association’s (ACHA) structure, the HRL closed the chapter of its inaugural season, marked by the crowning of three new champions in the four classes it features.

It is at the conclusion of 10 weekends of races divided between Canada and the United Stated that the winners in the 2.5 litre, Formula 2500, Hydro 350 and Grand Prix classes were decided amongst the 66 teams taking part in the competition.

New visual identity

The main objectives of the rebranding of the HRL are to give more exposure to hydroplane racing and build a strong image for the sport. The first challenge was to promote the new brand and, according to Didier-Bernard Séguin, the League’s commissioner, it is mission accomplished: “People quickly identified the HRL as the new face of hydroplane racing.”

In addition to a redesigned image and website, the organization wished to upgrade the level of competition on the circuit and develop a more efficient administrative structure. “The quality of the work and professionalism of everyone involved, from the drivers to the officials, was acknowledged throughout the season,” explains the commissioner, who believes it helps to elevate the sport.

Future endeavours

While the season just ended, the management is already looking toward the future. “Of course, we still have work to do, mentions Didier-Bernard Séguin. The sport remains fairly unknown in many regions, most notably in the United States.” The HRL therefore plans on continuing its media offensive, aiming for national exposure, larger audiences at its events and new financial partners.

Overall, the commissioner is proud of what the organization and communication team accomplished this first season: “It was a great year,” he enthusiastically adds.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

gp-be162645

Le 4 septembre dernier marquait l’ultime journée de compétition du calendrier de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL. Son commissaire, Didier-Bernard Séguin, dresse un bilan d’une première saison sous cette nouvelle structure opérationnelle.

Construite sur les bases de l’Association canadienne d’hydroplanes (ACHA), la HRL a fermé les livres de sa saison inaugurale, marquée entre autres par le couronnement de trois nouveaux champions dans les quatre classes qui la compose.

C’est à la conclusion de 10 week-ends de courses partagés entre le Canada et les États-Unis que les vainqueurs dans les catégories 2,5 litres, Formule 2500, Hydro 350 et Grand Prix ont été déterminés parmi les 66 équipes prenant part à la compétition.

Nouvelle identité

Les objectifs principaux du repositionnement identitaire de la HRL sont de populariser les courses d’hydroplanes et de créer une image forte pour le sport. Le premier défi consistait à bien faire connaître cette nouvelle identité et selon Didier-Bernard Séguin, le commissaire de la Ligue, ce fut mission accomplie : « Les gens ont rapidement identifié la HRL comme étant le nouveau visage des courses d’hydroplanes. »

En plus d’une signature visuelle et d’un site web repensés, l’organisation a voulu rehausser le niveau du circuit et développer une gestion plus efficace. « La qualité du travail et le professionnalisme de tous les membres, des pilotes aux officiels, ont été reconnus tout au long de la saison », explique le commissaire, qui croit que cela bénéficie à la promotion et la notoriété du sport.

Objectifs futurs

Alors que la saison vient à peine de se terminer, le regard de la direction est déjà tourné vers l’avenir. « Il reste bien sûr du travail à faire, ajoute Didier-Bernard Séguin. Le sport est encore méconnu dans plusieurs régions, notamment aux États-Unis. » La HRL envisage donc de poursuivre les efforts médiatiques entamés, visant une couverture nationale, une augmentation de l’achalandage aux divers événements et l’apport de nouveaux partenaires financiers.

Somme toute, le commissaire est fier de ce que l’organisation et l’équipe de communication ont accompli au cours de cette première saison : « Ce fut une très bonne année », précise-t-il avec enthousiasme.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité