News

Henderson Photo credit: Treasure Coast Newspapers

All eyes were on Canadians Bert Henderson and Patrick Haworth at the Stuart Sailfish Regattas held in Florida this past weekend. These races marked the beginning of the 2016 season for the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL).

On Sunday afternoon, Henderson won the first official competition of the Grand Prix class. The Brockville (Ontario) driver led the finals all the way through aboard the GP-777 Steeler EMS. Tom Pakradooni in the GP-88 Rolling Thunder, was just behind at the finish line.

Marty Wolfe (GP-93), from Chicago (Illinois), round up the podium in front of Ken Brodie (GP-50), from Grand Island (NY), Tom Thompson (GP-525), from Cambridge (Maryland) and Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy). The driver from McMasterville, Quebec, was making his comeback on the water after a 24-year hiatus.

More classes showcased

A few drivers from the HRL’s Formula 2500 and Hydro 350 classes were on-site to participate in events for the American Power Boat Association championship.

A hydroplane racer from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Patrick Haworth, came out on top of the 5 litre/Hydro 350 class behind the wheel of Michael Grendell’s H-79 Bad Influence. Note that Haworth was driving his boat for the very first time, so he will be a competitor to watch for the remaining of the calendar.

Matt O’Connor (E-34), Derec Smith (H-1300), John Shaw (E-1), Paul Barber (H-66) and Mathieu Lemelin (H-7), from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, followed in that order. Another driver from Valleyfield, Philippe Billette (CS-4) finished in fourth place in the 2.5 litre class, which was dominated by the American Alfred Thompson in the S-92.

The Hydroplane Racing League drivers will be back on June 4th and 5th in Gananoque, Ontario.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

Henderson Crédit photo : Treasure Coast Newspapers

L’Ontarien Bert Henderson et le Québécois Patrick Haworth ont été les figures dominantes des Régates de Stuart, en Floride. Ces courses donnaient le coup d’envoi de la saison 2016 sur le circuit de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL), cette fin de semaine.

Sous un soleil de plomb, Henderson a enlevé les honneurs de la première compétition officielle dans la classe Grand Prix. Le pilote de Brockville (Ontario) a dominé la finale de bout en bout dimanche, à bord du GP-777 Steeler EMS : au fil d’arrivée, le champion défendant a devancé Tom Pakradooni, de la Pennsylvanie, aux commandes du GP-88 Rolling Thunder.

Marty Wolfe (GP-93), de la région de Chicago (Illinois), a complété le podium devant Ken Brodie (GP-50), de Grand Island (N.Y.), Tom Thompson (GP-525), de Cambridge (Maryland) et Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy). Ce pilote de McMasterville, au Québec, effectuait un retour sur les eaux après une absence de 24 ans.

D’autres classes au programme

Quelques pilotes de la HRL en classes Formule 2500 et Hydro 350 étaient sur place pour prendre part à certaines épreuves du championnat de l’American Power Boat Association.

Un coureur de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Patrick Haworth, a triomphé dans la classe 5 litres/Hydro 350 au volant du H-79 Bad Influence de Michael Grendell. Un exploit remarquable pour ce pilote à surveiller : Haworth en était à sa toute première sortie dans cette embarcation.

Matt O’Connor (E-34), Derec Smith (H-1300), John Shaw (E-1), Paul Barber (H-66) et Mathieu Lemelin (H-7), de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, ont suivi dans l’ordre. Un autre Campivallensien, Philippe Billette (CS-4) a fini au 4e rang dans la classe 2,5 litres, qui a été l’affaire de l’Américain Alfred Thompson dans le bateau S-92.

Les pilotes de la Hydroplane Racing League seront de retour en compétition les 4 et 5 juin prochains à Gananoque, en Ontario.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité