News

BE160355

The last event of the season of the Hydroplane Racing league (HRL) crowned the champions in all four classes, this past weekend, at the 10th edition of the Régates de Beauharnois.

A large crowd was gathered in the Bourcier Park to witness four drivers rise to the top of the standings to win the championship: Marty Wolfe (Grand Prix), Nicolas Rousse (Hydro 350), Donald Leduc (Formula 2500) and Claude Abbott (2,5 litres) took the honors. Andrew Tate (GP), Jimmy King (H-350), Tom Huganir (F-2500) and Claude Abbott (2.5 L) were victorious in the finals, held on Sunday afternoon.

We had to wait until the very last race of the season to find out who would succeed to Karson Kennedy as champion of the 2.5 litre class. Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) had a mere 3-point lead over Claude Abbott (S-67) in the overall standings before the ultimate race, but lost the title at its very beginning, when he was too quick to cross the starting line.

Claude Abbott then lead the final from start to finish, followed by Sébastien Leduc (S-100), Kevin Smith (S-26), Tommy Shannon (S-4) and Derek Demers (S-44). Abbott ended the season with a total of 524 points, with Philippe Billette (506) and Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (455) rounding up the podium.

In the Formula 2500 class, Donald Leduc confirmed his second championship victory in a row during the 3rd round of qualifications on Sunday. The Salaberry-de-Valleyfield driver gathered 506 points in 2016, overshadowing Bobby King (483) and Rob Stevenson (458). In the final in Beauharnois, Tom Huganir (F-69) was dominant in front of Bobby King (F-242), Mike Monahan (F-79), Guillaume Charette (F-17) and Brandon Kennedy (F-25).

Another competitor from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Nicolas Rousse, was granted the title in the Hydro 350 class by the end of the very first day of action, on Saturday. The driver of the H-225 Boutin Harley Davidson Valleyfield gained a total of 557 points, followed by Patrick Haworth (496), Yannick Léger (495), Derec Smith (494) and Rémy Leblanc (491). The latter slipped from the 2nd to the 5th spot because of propeller issues and a false start during the consolation final. In the last race of the season, veteran Jimmy King (H-12) grabbed a third victory in four heats, beating Donny Allen Jr. (H-14), Derec Smith (H-13), Patrick Haworth (H-79) and Marc Lecompte (H-104).

In the Grand Prix class, Marty Wolfe (GP-93) was also crowned champion as early as Saturday because of mechanical issues that affected both Tom Pakradooni (GP-88) and Bert Henderson (GP-777). The driver from Chicago (Illinois) stands on top of the standings with 589 points, followed by Éric Langevin (530), Andrew Tate (528), Tom Pakradooni (496) and Bert Henderson (489).

Andrew Tate, who took advantage of Éric Langevin’s forfeit before the start of the race, dominated a promising final. The driver from Walled Lake (Michigan) lead the GP-101 Fat Chance Too to the winner’s circle in 2:45,21 to win two consecutive weekend of competition, after his victory in Detroit. Two drivers from the province of Quebec stepped on the podium; Mathieu Daoust (GP-9) finished second, less than 3 seconds behind Tate, and Mario Blain (GP-757) took the third position. The Canada Boy has not missed one start in its comeback season.

The HRL organization paid a special tribute to Tom Pakradooni, who announced he would not be returning next season, after nine years behind the wheel of the GP-88 Rolling Thunder.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

claude-abbott

La dernière compétition de la saison a couronné les champions dans les quatre classes au programme de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL, ce week-end, aux 10e Régates de Beauharnois.

Une impressionnante foule massée au parc Bourcier a été témoin de la conquête du championnat des points par les pilotes Marty Wolfe, en Grand Prix, Nicolas Rousse (Hydro 350), Donald Leduc (Formule 2500) et Claude Abbott (2,5 litres). Les finales tenues dimanche en fin d’après-midi ont été remportées par Andrew Tate (GP), Jimmy King (H-350), Tom Huganir (F-2500) et Claude Abbott (2,5 L).

Il a fallu attendre à la toute dernière épreuve de la campagne pour connaître le successeur de Karson Kennedy dans la classe 2,5 litres. Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) avait une maigre priorité de 3 points sur Claude Abbott (S-67) au classement cumulatif avant la course ultime et il a perdu le titre dès le début en franchissant la ligne de départ trop hâtivement.

Claude Abbott a mené la finale de bout en bout et il a triomphé devant Sébastien Leduc (S-100), Kevin Smith (S-26), Tommy Shannon (S-4) et Derek Demers (S-44).  Avec ses 524 points amassés au cumulatif, Abbott devance Philippe Billette (506) et Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (455).

Dans la Formule 2500, Donald Leduc a été sacré champion dès la 3e vague de qualification, dimanche, et ce pour une 2e année consécutive. Le pilote campivallensien affiche une récolte de 506 points en 2016, ce qui lui permet  d’éclipser Bobby King (483) et Rob Stevenson (458). En finale, Tom Huganir (F-69) s’est imposé devant Bobby King (F-242), Mike Monahan (F-79), Guillaume Charette (F-17) et Brandon Kennedy (F-25).

Un autre coureur de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Nicolas Rousse, s’est adjugé le championnat des points de la classe Hydro 350 à l’issue de la journée de samedi. Le pilote du H-225 Boutin Harley Davidson Valleyfield a totalisé 557 points devant Patrick Haworth (496), Yannick Léger (495), Derec Smith (494) et Rémy Leblanc (491). Ce dernier est passé de la 2e à la 5e position à la suite d’un bris d’hélice et d’un départ devancé par des poussières en consolation. En finale, le vétéran Jimmy King (H-12) a savouré une 3e victoire en 4 événements face à Donny Allen Jr. (H-14), Derec Smith (H-13), Patrick Haworth (H-79) et Marc Lecompte (H-104).

En Grand Prix, Marty Wolfe (GP-93) s’est également assuré du titre dès samedi en raison des ennuis éprouvés par Tom Pakradooni (GP-88) et Bert Henderson (GP-777). Le conducteur de la région de Chicago (Illinois) trône au sommet avec un total de 589 points devant Eric Langevin (530), Andrew Tate (528), Tom Pakradooni (496) et Bert Henderson (489).

Une finale prometteuse a été dominée par Andrew Tate qui a profité de l’abandon avant le départ du 2e favori, Eric Langevin (GP-12). Le pilote de Walled Lake (Michigan) a mené le GP-101 Fat Chance Too au cercle du vainqueur grâce à un temps de 2:45,21 pour décrocher un 2e gain de suite après sa victoire à Détroit. Deux Québécois ont accédé au podium alors que Mathieu Daoust (GP-9) a pris le 2e rang moins de 3 secondes derrière Tate, suivi de Mario Blain (GP-757) qui a complété chacun de ses départs cette saison.

Un hommage spécial a été rendu à Tom Pakradooni qui a annoncé son départ après 9 saisons aux commandes du GP-88 Rolling Thunder.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité