News

H-799 AllardMénard.com Rémy Leblanc is a newcomer in the Hydro 350 class aboard the H-799 AllardMénard.com, a hydroplane that once belonged to François Dumouchel and Ghislain Marcoux. Photo: Marc-André Rhéaume

By Denis Bourdonnais

A new site will welcome the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL) for the official start of the 2016 season, on June 4th and 5th, in Gananoque, Ontario.

Over 70 racing teams spread in four classes will battle on the water of the St. Lawrence River in the 1000 Islands region. Drivers in the Grand Prix, Hydro 350, Formula 2500 and 2.5 litre classes all aim to take home the Nickel Cup, which has not been awarded since the last motorboating event held in Gananoque in the 1950s.

While the Grand Prix class competitors have already faced one another in Stuart, Florida, all of the other drivers will be crossing the starting line for the first time. The championships will be determined at the closing of the 8th racing weekend, at the Régates de Beauharnois, on September 3rd and 4th.

Bert Henderson, 2015 champion of the Grand Prix class, showed that he was ready to defend his title by leading throughout the Stuart Sailfish Regatta aboard the GP-777 Steeler EMS. The driver from Brockville, Ontario, crossed the finishing line in front of the Americans Tom Pakradooni (GP-88), Marty Wolfe (Gp-93) and Tom Thompson (GP-525) and McMasterville resident Mario Blain, in the brand new GP-757 Canada Boy.

In Ganagoque, Henderson will have to keep an eye on two very competitive drivers: Andrew Tate, who could not enter the final in Stuart because of a fire that broke out in the GP-101 and Brandon Kennedy, who was forced to stop due to mechanical difficulties in the new GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing. Moreover, driver Pierre Maheu, triple champion between 2008 and 2011, comes back on the water behind the wheel of Ken Brodie II’s GP-50 Intensity. Even if he will be on restrictions for a few heats, the man from Saint-Michel can aspire to the top of the podium.

Quebec drivers Éric Langevin (GP-12), Martin Rochon (GP-77), Mathieu Daoust (GP-9) and Bertrand Dulude (GP-48), a newcomer in the GP class, will also aim to leave their mark.

Sylvain Campeau replaced

In the Hydro 350 class, defending champion Sylvain Campeau had to opt out of competition because of a back injury and he picked Jonathan Daoust as his replacement inside the H-15 Canadian Tire. The very competitive group of 24 racers in this category includes Jimmy King (H-12), Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Norm Ensbury (H-99), Kent Henderson (H-777), Richard Haineault (H-2), Marc Lecompte (H-104), Yannick Léger (H-21) and Patrick Haworth, who came out victorious in Stuart, aboard Michael Grendell’s H-79 Bad Influence. Samuel Pagé-Morin, the 2014 winner, is back in the H-16 Qualiplast, while Rémy Leblanc (H-799), Donny Allen Jr. (H-14) and Nathalye Campeau (H-396) will race for the first time in H-350.

The cutthroat Formula 2500 class will once again see last year’s champion Donald Leduc (H-48) battle it out along side Bobby King (F-242), Rob Stevenson (F-10), Yan Beaupré (F-36), Doug Rapp (F-79), Yan Lecompte (F-28), Tom Huganir (F-69), Jean-François Latour (F-8), Tyler Kaddatz (F-518), Frédéric Couturier (F-313) and Yves Villeneuve (F-6). The three top drivers of the 2015 2.5 litre championship, Karson Kennedy (F-25), Leah Hoosick (F-27) and Guillaume Charrette (F-17) are all moving up to the F-2500 class.

These changes mean that a new winner will be crowned in the 2.5 litre class and Alexis Weber (S-55), who will partner with Steve Armstrong, is seen as the main contender to Karson Kennedy’s title. Claude Abbott (S-67), Tommy Shannon (S-4), Derek Demers (S-44), Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (S-100), André Bergeron (S-18), Marie-Ève Vallières (S-96) and rookie Eric McKenna (S-999 Le Vegas EMK), among others, should make a lot of noise. Philippe-Hervé Cardinal will make his debut aboard the S-222 Dream Maker.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/5/27/pilotes–demarrez-vos-moteurs-.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

H-799 AllardMénard.com Rémy Leblanc fait le saut en Hydro 350 et il pilotera le H-799 AllardMénard.com, soit l'ancien bateau de François Dumouchel et de Ghislain Marcoux. (Crédit photo : Marc-André Rhéaume)

Par Denis Bourbonnais

C’est un nouveau site qui accueillera les pilotes de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL) pour le coup d’envoi officiel de la saison 2016, les 4 et 5 juin, à Gananoque en Ontario.

Quelque 70 équipes de course réparties dans quatre classes d’embarcations en viendront aux prises sur les eaux de la rivière St. Lawrence dans la région des Mille-Îles. Les coureurs des catégories Grand Prix, Hydro 350, Formule 2500 et 2,5 litres se disputeront la Coupe Nickel qui était à l’enjeu lors du dernier événement motonautique tenu à Gananoque dans les années ’50.

Si les compétiteurs de la classe Grand Prix ont déjà entamé leur campagne à Stuart en Floride, les conducteurs des autres classes prendront leurs premiers départs en ce début de course au championnat. Les champions seront couronnés à la 8e sortie des hydroplanes aux Régates de Beauharnois, les 3 et 4 septembre.

En Grand Prix, le champion en titre, Bert Henderson a annoncé ses couleurs à Stuart en décrochant la victoire aux commandes du GP-777 Steeler EMS. Le pilote de Brockville (Ontario) a distancé les Américains Tom Pakradooni (GP-88), Marty Wolfe (GP-93) et Tom Thompson (GP-525) ainsi que le Québécois Mario Blain, de McMasterville, à bord de son nouveau GP-757 Canada Boy.

À Gananoque, Henderson devra se méfier du combatif Andrew Tate, qui a été écarté de la finale à Stuart en raison d’un incendie dans le GP-101 et de Brandon Kennedy, qui a éprouvé des ennuis mécaniques avec le nouveau GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing. De plus, le triple champion de la classe Grand Prix entre 2008 et 2011, Pierre Maheu fait un retour sur les flots au volant du GP-50 Intensity de Ken Brodie II. Même s’il aura quelques restrictions à écouler, le résidant de Saint-Michel peut aspirer à une place en finale.

Les Québécois Eric Langevin (GP-12), Martin Rochon (GP-77), Mathieu Daoust (GP-9) et Bertrand Dulude (GP-48), un nouveau venu en GP, tenteront également de laisser leur marque.

Sylvain Campeau cède son volant

Du côté de la classe Hydro 350, le champion défendant Sylvain Campeau doit se retirer à cause d’une blessure au dos et il passe le flambeau à Jonathan Daoust qui hérite du H-15 Canadian Tire. Au sein de ce groupe très compétitif qui compte 24 inscrits, on retrouvera notamment Jimmy King (H-12), Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Norm Ensbury (H-99), Kent Henderson (H-777), Richard Haineault (H-2), Marc Lecompte (H-104), Yannick Léger (H-21) et Patrick Haworth, vainqueur à Stuart dans le nouveau H-79 Bad Influence de Michael Grendell. Samuel Pagé-Morin, champion en 2014, reprend le collier dans le H-16 Qualiplast alors que Rémy Leblanc (H-799), Donny Allen Jr. (H-14) et Nathalye Campeau (H-396) font le saut en H-350.

La farouche Formule 2500 réunit de nouveau le champion 2015, Donald Leduc (H-48), de même que Bobby King (F-242), Rob Stevenson (F-10), Yan Beaupré (F-36), Doug Rapp (F-79), Yan Lecompte (F-28), Tom Huganir (F-69), Jean-François Latour (F-8), Tyler Kaddatz (F-518), Frédéric Couturier (F-313) et Yves Villeneuve (F-6). Les gagnants du podium de saison en 2,5 litres, Karson Kennedy (F-25), Leah Hoosick (F-27) et Guillaume Charrette (F-17) se joignent à la classe F-2500.

Ces changements signifient que la classe 2,5 litres aura un nouveau champion et l’expérimentée Alexis Weber (S-55) vient en tête de liste pour la succession de Karson Kennedy, d’autant plus qu’elle partagera son volant avec Steve Armstrong. Claude Abbott (S-67), Tommy Shannon (S-4), Samuel Tremblay (S-5), Derek Demers (S-44), Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc (S-100), André Bergeron (S-18), Marie-Eve Vallières (S-96) et la recrue Eric McKenna (S-999 Le Vegas EMK), entre autres, devraient faire des vagues. Philippe-Hervé Cardinal fera ses débuts dans le S-222 Dream Maker.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/5/27/pilotes–demarrez-vos-moteurs-.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité