News

Photo: Christian Bergeron Photo: Christian Bergeron

The Quebec drivers led the way at the Long Sault Race (Ontario). Claude Abbott, Donald Leduc and Nicolas Rousse won in their respective classes during the second racing weekend of the Hydroplane Racing League season.

In the 2.5 litre class, Claude Abbott led from start to finish aboard the S-67 Abbott Racing, securing his first win during his second season on the hydroplane circuit.

The driver from Rivière-Beaudette completed five laps in 4 min 12 s, 26 ahead of Samuel Tremblay (S-5) by a little more than a second. Tremblay, who had a perfect record of five wins in as many races before Long Sault, was forced to overtake three opponents after missing his start. Philippe Billette (S-7), Stéphanie Leduc (S-100), Alexis Weber (S-55), Eric Mckenna (S-999) and André Bergeron (S-18) followed across the finish line.

In the Formula 2500 category, the Salaberry-de-Valleyfield native Donald Leduc gave his all and raced to victory aboard the F-1 Cannonball after having placed 2nd three times during the qualifying rounds. The defending champion prevailed over Tyler Kaddatz (F-519) while Leah Hoosick (F-27) completed the podium.

Jean-François Latour (F-8), Rob Stevenson (F-10) and Yan Beaupré (F-36) came in the following positions. Bobby King (F-242) gave Donald Leduc a run for his money, but was penalized for having changed lane at the first turn at the start of the race, as did Tom Huganir (F-69).

Heated battle in Hydro 350

Richard Haineault (H-2 Miss Beauharnois) and Nicolas Rousse (H-225 Harley Davidson) led a heated battle from start to finish in the Hydro 350 class. Haineault was the first to receive the checkered flag by less than a second, but was penalized for obstructing Derec Smith (H-13) who had the interior corridor at the start.

Declared the winner, Nicolas Rousse won his first victory in the H-350 category and his first win on the hydroplane racing circuit since 2010. Samuel Pagé-Morin (H-16) came in 2nd after having started from the 7th lane because of his victory during the second consolation race. Rémy Leblanc (H-799) continued to impress, and the racer from Coteau-du-Lac finished 3rd, even if he was still on restrictions.

Derec Smith, Yannick Léger (H-21) and Richard Haineault came in 4th, 5th and 6th place respectively, while Marc Lecompte (H-104) and Patrick Haworth (H-79) had a rough start.

Racers from these three categories as well as the Grand Prix class will take off once more on June 25-26 at the Saint-Félicien Regattas in Lac-Saint-Jean.

 

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

Crédit Photo: Christian Bergeron Crédit Photo: Christian Bergeron

Les pilotes québécois se sont imposés aux Régates de Long Sault (Ontario). Claude Abbott, Donald Leduc et Nicolas Rousse ont remporté la finale de leurs classes respectives lors de la seconde étape de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL).

Dans la classe 2,5 litres, Claude Abbott a mené l’épreuve ultime de bout en bout aux commandes de l’embarcation S-67 Abbott Racing pour décrocher une première victoire à sa deuxième saison sur le circuit motonautique.

Le pilote de Rivière-Beaudette a complété les cinq tours en 4 min 12 s, 26 en devançant Samuel Tremblay (S-5) par un peu plus d’une seconde. Ce dernier avait une fiche parfaite de cinq gains en autant de sorties avant la finale à Long Sault et il a dû remonter trois adversaires après avoir raté son départ. Philippe Billette (S-7), Stéphanie Leduc (S-100), Alexis Weber (S-55), Eric Mckenna (S-999) et André Bergeron (S-18) ont suivi à la ligne d’arrivée.

En Formule 2500, le Campivallensien Donald Leduc a gardé toutes ses billes pour la finale et il a triomphé à bord du F-1 Cannonball après avoir amassé trois résultats de 2e place lors des vagues de qualification. Le champion défendant a eu le dessus sur Tyler Kaddatz (F-519) tandis que Leah Hoosick (F-27) a complété le podium.

Jean-François Latour (F-8), Rob Stevenson (F-10) et Yan Beaupré (F-36) ont occupé les positions subséquentes. Bobby King (F-242) a livré une forte opposition à Donald Leduc mais il a été pénalisé pour avoir changé de corridor au premier virage après le départ, tout comme Tom Huganir (F-69).

Chaude lutte en Hydro 350

Du côté de la classe Hydro 350, Richard Haineault (H-2 Miss Beauharnois) et Nicolas Rousse (H-225 Harley Davidson) se sont bagarrés tout au long de la finale. Haineault a été le premier à recevoir le drapeau quadrillé par moins d’une seconde, mais il a été pénalisé pour avoir causé de l’obstruction à Derec Smith (H-13) qui avait le corridor intérieur au départ.

Nicolas Rousse a donc été déclaré vainqueur, ce qui lui a procuré une première victoire en H-350 et un premier gain sur le circuit des régates depuis 2010. Samuel Pagé-Morin (H-16) a pris le 2e rang après s’être élancé du 7e couloir en raison de sa victoire dans la 2e épreuve consolation. Rémy Leblanc (H-799) a continué d’impressionner et le coureur de Coteau-du-Lac a fini 3e même s’il était toujours sous restrictions.

Derec Smith, Yannick Léger (H-21) et Richard Haineault ont été crédités des positions 4 à 6 pendant que Marc Lecompte (H-104) et Patrick Haworth (H-79) ont été trop anxieux au départ.

Les compétiteurs de ces trois catégories et ceux de la classe Grand Prix reprendront le collier les 25 et 26 juin aux Régates de Saint-Félicien au lac Saint-Jean.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité