News

image-nouvelle-hrl

The Hydroplane Racing League (HRL) released its 2016 season calendar earlier today, in Montreal. The first weekend of competition will oppose the 12 Grand Prix class drivers in Stuart, Florida on May 21 and 22.

“Over the past few years, we have proudly witnessed a growth in hydroplane racing in the province of Quebec and across the board, said the HRL General Manager, Michel Poirier. We therefore decided to reposition the league in order to give more opportunity to the spectacular hydroplanes to shine in 10 cities in Canada and the United States. We have to do everything we can to promote a sport that is still fairly unknown in many regions.”

The league will be in charge of the marketing and promotion of the 10 races on the circuit. Inspired by the different car racing associations worldwide, the organization’s objectives are to provide more exposure to this thrilling sport and attract a wider audience. The HRL also plans on collaborating with new business partners in order to improve the circuit and increase the value of the drivers’ winnings. The goal: to showcase impressive races and offer a memorable experience to the spectators throughout each weekend.

Bert Henderson, an Ontarian driver, has been competing in different classes over the past 21 years and excitedly anticipates the 2016 season. “I have the utmost respect for the sport, he told the audience during the press conference. I am convinced that the league’s restructuration will shine a light on hydroplane racing and give the fans a better appreciation of the drivers’ skills and the hydroplanes’ power.”

10 races in North America

The 2016 season will begin in the Grand Prix class on May 21 and 22 in Stuart, Florida. This class features high-performance hydroplanes that can go as fast as 225 km/h. The focus will mainly be on Bert Henderson, the 2015 champion, aboard his GP-777 Steeler.

Amongst the 10 Hydroplane Racing League events of the season, three will be held in Quebec. The most prestigious race on the circuit, the Régates de Valleyfield, will take place in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield on July 15, 16 and 17. The final standings will be determined on the very last racing weekend of the season, on September 3 and 4, in Beauharnois, a suburb of Montreal.

To learn more about the 12 Grand Prix teams and the 54 teams in the developmental classes, go to hrlhydroplane.com, where you can also find out more about purchasing tickets, the calendar, standings and live results.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

image-nouvelle-hrl

La Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL a dévoilé son calendrier pour la saison 2016 aujourd’hui, à Montréal. Une première compétition opposera les 12 pilotes de la classe Grand Prix les 21 et 22 mai à Stuart, en Floride.

« Nous sommes fiers de la croissance des courses d’hydroplanes au Québec et ailleurs dans les dernières années, a déclaré le directeur général de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL, Michel Poirier. Nous avons donc décidé de repositionner notre ligue pour permettre aux spectaculaires hydroplanes de rayonner dans 10 villes au Canada et aux États-Unis. On doit tout mettre en œuvre pour faire évoluer ce sport encore méconnu dans plusieurs régions. »

La ligue veillera à la mise en marché et la promotion des 10 courses du circuit. Inspirée par les différentes séries automobiles à travers le monde, elle souhaite populariser ce sport enlevant et attirer de nouveaux partisans. La ligue prévoit également s’associer à de nouveaux partenaires commerciaux afin de rehausser la qualité du circuit et d’augmenter la valeur des bourses remises aux pilotes. Le but : offrir des courses impressionnantes et une expérience mémorable aux visiteurs, chaque week-end de compétition.

Pilote depuis 21 ans dans différentes catégories, l’Ontarien Bert Henderson est enthousiaste en vue de la saison 2016. « J’ai un grand respect pour ce sport, a-t-il lancé en point de presse. Je suis persuadé que cette restructuration de la ligue augmentera la popularité des courses et permettra aux spectateurs d’apprécier davantage le talent des pilotes et la puissance des hydroplanes. »

10 courses en Amérique du Nord

La saison 2016 débutera en classe Grand Prix les 21 et 22 mai à Stuart, en Floride. Cette catégorie présente des hydroplanes de haute performance qui peuvent atteindre une vitesse maximale de 225 km/h. On y surveillera notamment Henderson, champion de la saison 2015, au volant de son GP-777 Steeler.

Parmi les 10 événements de la saison, la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL en compte trois au Québec. La course la plus prestigieuse du circuit, les Régates de Valleyfield, aura lieu à Salaberry-de-Valleyfield les 15, 16 et 17 juillet. Quant au championnat de la saison, il sera déterminé lors du tout dernier affrontement prévu les 3 et 4 septembre à Beauharnois, en banlieue de Montréal.

Pour en connaître davantage sur les 12 équipes Grand Prix ainsi que les 54 équipes des classes de développement, visitez le hrlhydroplane.com. Vous y trouverez également l’information pour l’achat des billets, le calendrier des courses, le classement et les résultats en direct.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité