News

GP-101 Fat Chance Too Photo : William J. Wright

Eric Langevin and Andrew Tate dominated the Grand Prix heats at the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL) event that took place in Gananoque, Ontario, on Saturday.

Both drivers came out victorious in each of the two races they participated in during the first day of competition. Bad weather forced the cancellation of the qualifying rounds and the finals scheduled on Sunday.

In the Grand Prix class, Eric Langevin took the GP-12 Long Shot to its first win, capitalizing on Bert Henderson’s tentative start aboard the GP-777 Steeler EMS. The racer from Mercier reached the finish line in front of two other Quebeckers, Mathieu Daoust (GP-9) and Pierre Maheu (GP-50).

The result was the same on Langevin’s second start, when he finished in front of Mario Blain (GP-757), from McMasterville. The winner registered the second fastest time of the day for the GP class: 2 min 33 s, 30 for the four laps on the one-mile track.

Andrew Tate, from Michigan, also saw the checkered flag be waved for him twice behind the wheel of the GP-101 Fat Chance Too. Tom Pakradooni (GP-88), from Pennsylvania, came second in the 1C heat, while Bert Henderson, from Brockville (Ontario), was just behind Tate in the 2A heat. Tate was the fastest of the day (2 min 24 s, 56). Marty Wolfe and his GP-93 Renegade, from Crete (Illinois), won the other two races.

In the 2.5 litre class, Samuel Tremblay also scored a double victory aboard the S-5, winning first in front of Steve Armstrong (S-55), and then Claude Abbott (S-67). Sébastien Leduc (S-100), who took his very first victory, and Steve Armstrong were the winners of the other heats.

In Hydro 350, three drivers from Quebec – Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Rémy Leblanc (H-799) and Richard Haineault (H-2) – lead their qualifying races, while Jimmy King (H-12) won heat 1C in front of Samuel Pagé-Morin (H-16).

Rob Stevenson (F-10), from Ontario and Bobby King (F-242), from Michigan, scored two victories each in the Formula 2500 class. The defending champion, Donald Leduc (F-1) and Yves Villeneuve (F-6), both from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, finished in 2nd and 4th position.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

GP-101 Fat Chance Too Crédit photo : William J. Wright

Le Québécois Éric Langevin et l’Américain Andrew Tate ont dominé les épreuves de la classe Grand Prix de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL), samedi, à Gananoque en Ontario.

Les deux pilotes se sont illustrés en remportant la victoire à chacun de leurs deux départs lors de la première journée de courses. Le mauvais temps a forcé l’annulation des vagues de qualification et des finales prévues dimanche.

En Grand Prix, Éric Langevin a mené l’embarcation GP-12 Long Shot à un premier gain quand il a profité du départ trop anxieux de Bert Henderson dans le GP-777 Steeler EMS. Le coureur de Mercier a devancé au fil d’arrivée deux autres Québécois, Mathieu Daoust (GP-9) et Pierre Maheu (GP-50).

Langevin est revenu à la charge à sa deuxième sortie et il a triomphé devant Mario Blain (GP-757) de McMasterville. Le vainqueur a réalisé le deuxième temps de la journée en GP, soit 2 min 33 s, 30 pour les quatre tours d’une distance d’un mille.

Andrew Tate, du Michigan, a également reçu le drapeau quadrillé à deux reprises aux commandes du GP-101 Fat Chance Too. Il a distance Tom Pakradooni (GP-88), de la Pennsylvanie dans l’épreuve 1 C avant d’éclipser le meneur au classement, Bert Henderson, de Brockville (Ontario), dans la course 2 A. Du même coup, Tate a réussi le meilleur temps de la compétition (2 min 24 s, 56). Marty Wolfe, de Crete (Illinois), a gagné les deux autres épreuves à bord du GP-93 Renegade.

Dans la classe 2,5 litres, Samuel Tremblay a fait le doublé au volant de l’embarcation S-5, l’emportant d’abord devant l’Ontarien Steve Armstrong (S-55) et à la seconde occasion, face à Claude Abbott (S-67). Sébastien Leduc (S-100), auteur d’une première victoire en carrière, et Steve Armstrong ont été les autres gagnants.

En Hydro 350, les Québécois Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Rémy Leblanc (H-799) et Richard Haineault (H-2) ont enlevé les honneurs de leur qualification tandis que Jimmy King (H-12) a distancé Samuel Pagé-Morin (H-16) dans l’épreuve 1 C.

L’Ontarien Rob Stevenson (F-10) et l’Américain du Michigan, Bobby King (F-242) ont pour leur part triomphé deux fois chacun dans les épreuves de la classe Formule 2500. Le champion en titre, Donald Leduc (F-1) et Yves Villeneuve (F-6), tous deux de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, ont été les plus performants chez les Québécois avec une 2e et une 4e position.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité