News

GP-101 Fat Chance Too - Andrew Tate Photo credit: Chris Denslow

By Denis Bourbonnais

Andrew Tate chose the perfect moment to get his best results of the season in the Grand Prix class of the Hydroplane Racing League, this past weekend at the Detroit Hydrofest, in Michigan.

The rising star on the hydroplane racing circuit, stole the show in front of his many fans gathered around the Detroit River, as he came out victorious in front of Ken Brodie in an electrifying final. The driver from Walled Lake (Michigan) was starting from the third lane and caught up on the GP-50 Intensity in the last straightaway and get his hand on the Silver Cup at the 100th edition of the Detroit Hydrofest.

Tate was relentlessly going after his opponent for more than three laps aboard the GP-101 Fat Chance Too. At the fourth buoy, in the last turn, as they were standing neack and neck, Ken Brodie lost control for a brief moment. The driver from Grand Island (NY) slid behind the GP-101, as Tate crossed the finish line.

It is a second victory in a Grand Prix final for the 27-year-old, who has moved up to the class last year. Ken Brodie completed the race and stood on the second step of the podium, followed by Greg Hopp (GP-12W Lucas Oil), Marty Wolfe (GP-93 Renegade), Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy), Eric Langevin (GP-12 Long Shot) and Tom Pakradooni (GP-88 Rolling Thunder), who was penalized.

Spectacular accident

Saturday’s heats were marked by a terrifying accident, as Brandon Kennedy lost control in the west turn and the GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing was hit by Martin Rochon’s GP-77 Coppertone. The latter’s boat flipped over his opponent.

Miraculously, the two drivers were uninjured. However, both hydroplanes were badly damaged and it may compromise their presence in Beauharnois on September 3 and 4, for the last event of the season.

Bad weather late on Saturday forced the remaining races to be postponed to the next day. Heat 2B was therefore restarted on Sunday, but without Bert Henderson’s GP-777 Steeler. The driver from Brockville (Ontario) was penalized for allegedly causing the collision and he and his team decided to leave Detroit in protest.

This weekend’s results give Marty Wolfe a strong lead in the overall standings in the Grand Prix class. The GP-93 Renegade currently has 537 points, followed by Tom Pakradooni (483), Bert Henderson (464), Eric Langevin (463) and Ken Brodie (447). Teams can cumulate up to 100 points at the Régates de Beauharnois, so the championship is still up in the air.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/8/28/andrew-tate-comble-ses-partisans.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

GP-101 Fat Chance Too - Andrew Tate Crédit photo : Chris Denslow

Par Denis Bourbonnais

Le pilote Andrew Tate a bien choisi son temps pour connaître ses meilleurs moments de la saison sur le circuit Grand Prix d’hydroplanes, le dimanche 28 août, aux Régates de Détroit au Michigan.

La nouvelle coqueluche du sport motonautique a comblé ses nombreux partisans massés aux abords de la rivière Détroit en arrachant la victoire à Ken Brodie dans une finale pour le moins électrisante. S’élançant du 3e corridor, le coureur de Walled Lake (Michigan) est venu de l’arrière pour coiffer le conducteur du GP-50 Intensity, détenteur de la pôle, dans le dernier droit et s’assurer de la Silver Cup à l’occasion du 100e anniversaire des courses d’hydroplanes à Détroit.

Tate a pourchassé son adversaire pendant trois tours et trois quarts à bord du GP-101 Fat Chance Too. À la 4e bouée du dernier tournant, il était à égalité avec Ken Brodie lorsque ce dernier a été incapable de compléter son virage. Le conducteur de Grand Island (N.Y.) a perdu la maîtrise de son bolide pour glisser dans le sillon du GP-101 et Tate a filé seul vers la ligne d’arrivée.

Il s’agit d’un second triomphe en autant d’années pour le pilote de 27 ans dans une course ultime de la classe Grand Prix. Ken Brodie a réussi à terminer la finale et il a pu monter sur la 2e marche du podium, suivi de Greg Hopp (GP-12W Lucas Oil), Marty Wolfe (GP-93 Renegade), Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy), Eric Langevin (GP-12 Long Shot) et Tom Pakradooni (GP-88 Rolling Thunder), qui a écopé d’une pénalité.

Accident spectaculaire

Les épreuves de samedi ont été marquées par un accident à faire glacer le sang, alors que Brandon Kennedy a été victime d’une perte de contrôle dans le tournant Ouest. Son embarcation GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing a été heurtée par le GP-77 Coppertone de Martin Rochon et le bateau du pilote de Saint-Zotique s’est soulevé dans les airs avant de retomber à l’envers.

Miraculeusement, les deux coureurs ont été épargnés des blessures. Les hydroplanes ont été lourdement endommagés et leur présence à Beauharnois pour le dernier rendez-vous de la saison, les 3 et 4 septembre, est incertaine.

Le mauvais temps a forcé le report du reste des courses de samedi au lendemain et dimanche, l’épreuve 2B a été reprise sans le GP-777 Steeler de Bert Henderson. Le pilote de Brockville (Ontario), qui était en tête au moment de la collision, a été pénalisé pour avoir présumément causé l’accident et son équipe a décidé de lever les feutres en guise de protestation.

Les résultats du week-end ont permis à Marty Wolfe d’augmenter son avance au sommet du classement cumulatif de la catégorie Grand Prix. Le GP-93 Renegade totalise 537 points devant Tom Pakradooni (483), Bert Henderson (464), Eric Langevin (463) et Ken Brodie (447). Avec une récolte possible de 100 points aux Régates de Beauharnois, le championnat est toujours à la portée des poursuivants de Marty Wolfe.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/8/28/andrew-tate-comble-ses-partisans.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité