News

SF164104

Hydroplane racing fans were in for quite a thrilling weekend of competition during the 11th edition of the Régates de Saint-Félicien, held on June 25 and 26. Despite thunderstorms, mechanical failures and incidents, spectacular races were seen and the standings of the four classes of the Hydroplane Racing League are tighter than ever.

Finals in the Grand Prix class began with shocking news: the American Andrew Tate (GP-101) had to forfeit because of mechanical difficulties. It was an unfortunate event for the young driver, as the weekend was going very well for him; he had won two of his three qualifying heats.

During the final race of the day in this class, Bert Henderson (GP-777) and Eric Langevin (GP-12) crossed the starting line neck and neck and held their own for over two laps. At the beginning of the third lap, Eric Langevin lost control of his hydroplane and flew into his Ontarian opponent’s rooster tail. Thankfully, he landed safely, but the coast was clear for Bert Henderson and his Steeler. He raced to victory in 2 min 41 s, 72.

Mike Monahan (GP-93) was replacing Marty Wolfe aboard the Renegade and finished in third place, close to 12 seconds behind the winner. The GP-93 team lost its lead in the standings, now sharing the top position with Bert Henderson at 247 points.

Hydro 350: Jimmy King victorious

The Hydro 350 finals opposed two drivers who had never lost in Saint-Félicien: Nicolas Rousse (H-225) and Jimmy King (H-12). The latter one, aboard the Pleasure Seeker, ended up on top of the podium. Patrick Haworth (H-79 Bad Influence) finished in third place.

Nicolas Rousse’s second position in Saint-Félicien did not affect his hold on the top spot of the HRL standings in his category with 212 points.

Donald Leduc still in the lead

Another incident took place on the racetrack in the Formula 2500 class, as Leah Hoosick (F-27 Chaotic Dream) collided with Bobby King (F-242 Crush) in a turn. Fortunately, both drivers returned to the dock with only material damage to account for.

The second start saw Yan Beaupré (F-36 Yancy) take the lead early on and be chased by the defending champion Donald Leduc and his F-1 Cannonball. The champion grabbed the first position during the third lap and won his first race of the weekend in 4 min 37 s, 38. Third place went to Tyler Kaddatz (F-519), who qualified by winning the consolation final.

Claude Abbott dominates in the 2.5 litre class finals

Finally, Claude Abbott (S-67 Abbott Racing) repeated the Long Sault finals and led the race from start to finish, this time in 4 min 55 s, 01. Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) and Kevin Smith (S-26 DreamWeaver) rounded up the podium.

The next stop on the HRL’s circuit will be the 1000 Islands Regatta & Festival, in Brockville, on July 2 and 3.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

saint-felicien-hrl

Les amateurs de courses d’hydroplanes ont vécu un week-end fort en émotions lors de la 11e édition des Régates de Saint-Félicien, qui se déroulait les 25 et 26 juin. Malgré les éclairs, les ennuis mécaniques et les incidents, des courses spectaculaires se sont disputées, resserrant ainsi le classement dans les quatre catégories de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL.

La finale en classe Grand Prix a débuté avec une surprise de taille : l’Américain Andrew Tate (GP-101) s’est vu contraint de rester dans les puits en raison d’un bris mécanique. La fin de semaine avait pourtant bien débuté pour le jeune pilote, lui qui avait remporté deux des trois vagues de qualification.

Ce sont les pilotes Bert Henderson (GP-777) et Éric Langevin (GP-12) qui ont pris les devants dès le départ, côte à côte : la chaude lutte s’est étirée sur plusieurs virages. Puis, au début du troisième tour, Éric Langevin a légèrement perdu la maîtrise de son embarcation et grimpé dans la queue d’eau de son adversaire ontarien. Bien qu’il soit retombé sur ses pontons, il a laissé le champ libre à Bert Henderson et son Steeler qui ont filé vers la victoire en 2 min 41 s, 72.

Mike Monahan (GP-93), en remplacement de Marty Wolfe, a fini au troisième rang près de 12 secondes après le gagnant. L’équipe du GP-93 perd donc son avance au classement, se retrouvant à égalité avec Bert Henderson avec 247 points.

Hydro 350 : Jimmy King victorieux

La finale Hydro 350 a été disputée entre deux pilotes qui, jusqu’à cette dernière compétition, détenaient une fiche parfaite à Saint-Félicien : Nicolas Rousse (H-225) et Jimmy King (H-12). C’est finalement ce dernier, au volant du Pleasure Seeker, qui a remporté la course. Patrick Haworth (H-79 Bad Influence) a terminé au troisième rang.

Bien qu’il soit monté sur la deuxième marche du podium de Saint-Félicien, Nicolas Rousse demeure tout de même en tête du classement HRL avec 212 points.

Donald Leduc toujours en tête

Un autre incident est survenu en classe Formule 2500, alors que Leah Hoosick (F-27 Chaotic Dream) n’a pu éviter le crochet de Bobby King (F-242 Crush). Heureusement, on ne comptait que des dommages matériels à la suite de cette collision; les deux pilotes s’en sont sortis indemnes.

Au deuxième départ, Yan Beaupré (F-36 Yancy) a pris les devants, pourchassé par le champion sortant Donald Leduc et son F-1 Cannonball. Ce dernier l’a alors dépassé au troisième tour pour mettre la main sur sa première victoire du week-end en 4 min 37 s, 38. Tyler Kaddatz (F-519) a décroché la troisième position après s’être qualifié en remportant la finale de consolation.

Claude Abbott domine la finale 2,5 litres

Finalement, Claude Abbott (S-67 Abbott Racing) a répété l’exploit qu’il avait réalisé à Long Sault en menant l’épreuve 2,5 litres de bout en bout, cette fois-ci en 4 min 55 s, 01. Philippe Billette (S-7 Airspeed) et Kevin Smith (S-26 DreamWeaver) ont occupé les positions subséquentes.

Le prochain arrêt de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL sera à Brockville les 2 et 3 juillet prochain, pour le 1000 Islands Regatta & Festival.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité