News

BR161996

The heats that were completed in Brockville (Ontario) this weekend proved that the competition really is stiff in the Hydroplane Racing League. Indeed, the winners from each class reached the highest step of the podium for the first time this season.

Brandon Kennedy, in the Grand Prix class, along with Eric McKenna (2.5 litre), Douglas Rapp (Formula 2500) and Kent Henderson (Hydro 350) made the most points at the end of the qualifying rounds. Strong winds at the beginning of the afternoon on Sunday forced the officials to cancel the finals of the 4th stop on the HRL circuit.

In the Grand Prix class, fans had a glimpse of the old Brandon Kennedy, thanks to a mechanically sound boat. The driver from Bear (Delaware) won three races in as many starts in the GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing. He finished the weekend in first place with 75 points.

Jimmy King replaced Andrew Tate aboard the GP-101 Fat Chance Too and ended in second place (68 points) by winning the 3rd qualification on Sunday morning. Mathieu Daoust (2nd, 1st, 2nd) and Eric Langevin (2nd, 2nd, 1st) grabbed 67 points each, respectively in the GP-9 Meubles N. Lalonde and the GP-12 Long Shot. Langevin, who crossed the finished line just before Daoust in the 3C heat, closely won the tiebreaker. Bert Henderson’s (GP-777) forfeit on Saturday favored Marty Wolfe (GP-93) who is now alone on top of the standings.

A first for Eric McKenna

In the 2.5 litre class, rookie Eric McKenna took his first win behind the wheel of the S-999 Vegas EMK by finishing in 2nd place in two qualifications and in 4th place in the other one. Philippe Billette (1st, 6th, 1st) kept the momentum going with a 2nd place in the S-7 Air Speed and the Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc duo finished in 3rd place with the S-100 Sans Limite.

The Formula 2500 class was all Douglas Rapp who finally got rid of the F-79 Bad Influence’s motor problems and took two 1st places. Only one point separated Bobby King (2nd, 2nd, 4th) and the F-242 Crush from the top position and Yan Beaupré (2nd, 3rd, 3rd) took the third place with another great performance in the F-36 Yancy.

Kent Henderson dominates

The Hydro 350 hydroplanes only came out twice and Kent Henderson impressed his hometown crowd by winning both times aboard the H-777 Steeler. The driver from Brockville was followed by Richard Haineault (H-2 Miss Beauharnois), who won the tiebreaker over Derec Smith (H-13).

Rémy Leblanc made a statement in the 2C qualifying heat and finished in 4th place with the H-799 AllardMenard.com, followed by Patrick Haworth (H-79), Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Marc Lecompte (H-104), Mathieu Lemelin (H-7) and Sylvain Dorais (H-32).

The Hydroplane Racing League will be in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield for the 78th edition of the Régates de Valleyfield on July 15, 16 and 17.

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

brockville

Les compétitions disputées à Brockville (Ontario) ce week-end ont démontré que la parité est bien installée au sein de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL), alors que les gagnants des quatre classes au programme ont accédé à la plus haute marche du podium pour la première fois cette saison.

Brandon Kennedy, dans la classe Grand Prix, Eric McKenna (2,5 litres), Douglas Rapp (Formule 2500) et Kent Henderson (Hydro 350) ont été déclarés vainqueurs au total des points à l’issue des épreuves de qualification. Le vent s’est mis de la partie dimanche en début d’après-midi et les officiels ont été forcés d’annuler les finales de la quatrième étape du circuit motonautique de la HRL.

En Grand Prix, les amateurs ont pu voir le Brandon Kennedy des beaux jours grâce à une mécanique réglée au quart de tour. Le pilote de Bear (Delaware) a décroché trois victoires en autant de départs à bord du GP-25 Team H8 Cancer pour enlever les honneurs de la fin de semaine en vertu d’une récolte de 75 points.

Jimmy King a pris la relève d’Andrew Tate au volant du GP-101 Fat Chance Too et il s’est assuré de la 2e position (68 points) en remportant la 3e course de qualification, dimanche matin. Les Québécois Mathieu Daoust (2e, 1re, 2e) et Eric Langevin (2e, 2e, 1re) ont obtenu 67 points chacun dans le GP-9 Meubles N. Lalonde et le GP-12 Long Shot. Le bris d’égalité a favorisé Langevin qui a coiffé Daoust par des poussières au fil d’arrivée dans l’épreuve 3C. Marty Wolfe (GP-93) a profité d’un abandon de Bert Henderson (GP-777), samedi, pour se hisser au sommet du classement cumulatif.

Une première pour Eric McKenna

Dans la classe 2,5 litres, la recrue Eric McKenna s’est adjugé une première victoire aux commandes du S-999 Vegas EMK en obtenant deux résultats de 2e place et une 4e. Philippe Billette (1re, 6e, 1re) a poursuivi sur sa lancée avec une 2e position au volant du S-7 Air Speed et le duo Sébastien/Stéphanie Leduc  (3e, 4e, 3e) s’est classé 3e dans le S-100 Sans limite.

La Formule 2500 a été l’affaire de Douglas Rapp qui a finalement été épargné des ennuis de moteur dans le F-79 Bad Influence pour se payer deux premières places. Bobby King (2e, 2e, 4e) a terminé 2e par un maigre point sur le F-242 Crush et Yan Beaupré (2e, 3e, 3e) a pu monter sur la 3e marche du podium à la suite d’une autre bonne performance dans le F-36 Yancy.

Kent Henderson domine

Les bateaux de la classe Hydro 350 ont sorti deux fois et Kent Henderson a comblé son public en l’emportant à chaque reprise dans le H-777 Steeler. Le pilote de Brockville a devancé Richard Haineault (H-2 Miss Beauharnois) qui a eu le meilleur sur Derec Smith (H-13) au bris d’égalité.

Rémy Leblanc, qui s’est imposé dans la qualification 2C, a fini 4e dans le H-799 AllardMenard.com, suivi de Patrick Haworth (H-79), Nicolas Rousse (H-225), Marc Lecompte (H-104), Mathieu Lemelin (H-7) et Sylvain Dorais (H-32).

Le prochain rendez-vous de la HRL sera la 78e édition des Régates de Valleyfield, les 15, 16 et 17 juillet.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité