News

GP-777 Steeler

By Denis Bourbonnais

Bert Henderson picked up where he left off in 2015 by winning the first Grand Prix competition of the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL) season, this past weekend, at the 5th Stuart Sailfish Regattas, in Florida.

The Brockville (Ontario) driver lead the final race all the way through aboard the GP-777 Steeler EMS and successfully began defending the title he won last year. Henderson’s closest rival, Tom Pakradooni in the GP-88 Rolling Thunder, finished more than a rooster tail behind.

Marty Wolfe (GP-93 Renegade) round up the podium, followed by Tom Thompson (GP-525 Fat Chance), Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy) and Ken Brodie II (GP-50 Intensity). Blain, from McMasterville, was making his comeback on the water after a 24-year hiatus and was on restrictions. On a sadder note, Brodie lost his fourth position because he was out of course before the start of the race.

Two of the favorites, Andrew Tate (GP-101 Fat Chance Too) and Brandon Kennedy (GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing), were unable to get into the finals. After leading the first two races, Tate’s hydroplane caught on fire during the third heat of qualifications. The driver from Michigan did not sustain any injuries, but the damages to his boat cut his racing weekend short. Kennedy encountered some mechanical difficulties aboard his new Jones hull.

Eric Langevin’s infraction before the start of the consolation final cost him a victory behind the wheel of the GP-12 Long Shot. Tom Thompson (GP-525) was therefore crowned the winner of the heat. Bertrand Dulude (GP-48 Zero Gravity) did well throughout his first races in the Grand Prix class, while Martin Rochon (GP-77 Coppertone) and Mathieu Daoust (GP-9 Meubles N. Lalonde) were slowed down due to engine problems.

Bert Henderson had a perfect weekend, winning the four races he participated in. The leaders of the other qualifications were Andrew Tate (2), Ken Brodie, Marty Wolfe, Tom Pakradooni and Tom Thompson.

Haworth victorious

In the 5 litre/Hydro 350 class, Patrick Haworth was impressive during his first finals aboard Michael Grendell’s brand new H-79 Bad Influence. The driver from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield took the lead over Matt O’Connor (E-34 Gator) in the second lap and never looked back. Derec Smith (H-1300) finished in second place, followed by John Shaw (E-1), Paul Barber (H-66) and Mathieu Lemelin (H-7). Donny Allen Jr. was forced to forfeit in Richard Hearn’s H-14 Legacy and Samuel Pagé-Morin (H-16 Qualiplast) abandoned after taking the second place of heat 1A, on Saturday.

The 2.5 litre class final was won by Alfred Thompson (S-92), followed by Alexis Weber (S-55), Philippe Billette (CS-7) and Karson Kennedy (S-25), who jumped the gun.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/5/22/bert-henderson-trop-fort-aux-regates-de-stuart-.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

GP-777 Steeler

Par Denis Bourbonnais

Bert Henderson a repris là où il avait laissé en 2015 et il a remporté la première compétition Grand Prix de la saison sur le circuit de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL), dimanche après-midi, aux 5e Régates de Stuart en Floride.

Le pilote de Brockville (Ontario) a mené la finale d’un bout à l’autre aux commandes du GP-777 Steeler EMS et il a brillamment entamé la défense de son titre acquis l’an dernier. Henderson a devancé par plus d’une queue d’eau le GP-88 Rolling Thunder conduit par Tom Pakradooni.

Marty Wolfe (GP-93 Renegade), Tom Thompson (GP-525 Fat Chance), Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy) et Ken Brodie II (GP-50 Intensity) ont suivi à la ligne d’arrivée. Blain, de McMasterville, effectuait un retour sur les flots après une absence de 24 ans et il était sous restrictions. Quant à Brodie, il a été privé d’une 4e place parce qu’il s’est retrouvé à l’extérieur du parcours avant le départ.

Deux des favoris, Andrew Tate (GP-101 Fat Chance Too) et Brandon Kennedy (GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing) ont été incapables de se tailler une place en finale. Tate a dû combattre un incendie dans la 3e épreuve de qualification après avoir gagné à ses deux premiers départs. Le pilote du Michigan n’a pas été blessé mais les dommages au moteur l’ont empêché de revenir en piste. Kennedy a pour sa part connu des ennuis mécaniques dans le nouveau GP-25 de conception Jones.

Eric Langevin a commis une infraction avant le départ de la finale consolation à bord du GP-12 Long Shot, ce qui a effacé sa victoire au profit de Tom Thompson (GP-525). Bertrand Dulude (GP-48 Zero Gravity) a bien fait à ses premiers tours en Grand Prix alors que Martin Rochon (GP-77 Coppertone) et Mathieu Daoust (GP-9 Meubles N. Lalonde) ont été ralentis par des problèmes de moteur.

Bert Henderson a été parfait au cours du week-end avant 4 gains en autant de départs. Les gagnants des autres épreuves de qualification ont été Andrew Tate (2), Ken Brodie, Marty Wolfe, Tom Pakradooni et Tom Thompson.

Haworth vainqueur

Dans la classe 5 litres/Hydro 350, Patrick Haworth a épaté la galerie en triomphant dans la finale à sa toute première sortie dans le nouveau H-79 Bad Influence de Michael Grendell. Le pilote campivallensien a rattrapé Matt O’Connor (E-34 Gator) au 2e tour et il n’a jamais regardé derrière lui par la suite. Derec Smith (H-1300) a accédé au podium, suivi de John Shaw (E-1), Paul Barber (H-66) et Mathieu Lemelin (H-7). Donny Allen Jr. a été contraint à l’abandon dans le H-14 Legacy de Richard Hearn et Samuel Pagé-Morin (H-16 Qualiplast) n’était pas au rendez-vous après avoir terminé 2e dans la course 1A, samedi.

Du côté de la classe 2,5 litres, Alfred Thompson (S-92) l’a emporté devant Alexis Weber (S-551) Philippe Billette (CS-7) et Karson Kennedy (S-25), qui a devancé le départ.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/5/22/bert-henderson-trop-fort-aux-regates-de-stuart-.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité