News

Saint-Félicien

By Denis Bourbonnais

The 11th edition of the Régates de Saint-Félicien gave us exciting races in all four classes, especially during the consolation heats and the finals. Here are some of the highlights of the third stop on the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL) calendar.

Philippe Billette stands out

In the 2.5 litre class, Philippe Billette surprised everyone aboard the S-7 Air Speed by winning two qualifications in Saint-Félicien and taking the second place in the finals. It was the second time that the driver from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield was stepping on the podium this season and he is currently in third place in the standings.

Samuel Tremblay (S-5) also won two qualifying races in Saint-Félicien, taking his 6th and 7th victories in 8 starts. A defect in his gas pump took the driver out of heat 3B, which lead him to finish in 7th place in the finals.

Kevin Smith, who is making a comeback after a one-year hiatus, won the consolation final over Eric McKenna before taking the third place in the final with the S-26 Dream Weaver.

Yan Beaupré is getting closer

It will not be long before Yan Beaupré wins a final in the Formula 2500 class. In Saint-Félicien, the driver of the F-36 Yancy won two qualifications and finished second in the other one. During the ultimate race, he lead for three laps before Donald Leduc could pass him, using the inner lane. It was déjà vu for Beaupré who saw Rob Stevenson do the same thing in Beauharnois last year.

Tyler Kaddatz stepped on the podium for the second time in a row with his F-519 Ah Sum Secret. The driver from Brockville (Ontario) won a consolation final that could hardly be more entertaining. He crossed the finish line a mere 19 hundredth of a second in front of Yves Villeneuve (F-6 Graf-X). In the final, Kaddatz finished in third place after taking the second position in Long Sault. Jean-François Latour flipped during Saturday’s qualifications, but still came back on Sunday with a new hull, the F-8 FBL Special being completely wrecked.

A win for Louis Allard

Louis Allard took his first victory in the 1D qualifying heat on Saturday in Saint-Félicien. It is only his second season on the HRL circuit with the H-4 Big Decision. Michel Raymond and his H-71 M2K had a satisfying weekend, ending in 1st, 3rd and 2nd position in each qualification and in 5th place in the final. Raymond and Nicolas Rousse were neck in neck throughout the 3D heat, which Rousse took with only 31 hundredth of a second.

Jimmy King was perfect in “Saint-Fé” with 4 wins in as many races in the H-12 Pleasure Seekers. The veteran from Michigan is in fact undefeated in 5 starts this year. For professional reasons, the owner Roger Mahan is unable to attend the Brockville stop and will not take the boat to every competition on the calendar.

The H-12 will only race in Valleyfield and Tonawanda (NY), which means Nicolas Rousse is the favorite to take the championship this year with the H-225 Harley Davidson Valleyfield. Before the 1000 Islands Regatta & Festival, Rousse is in the lead, 46 points ahead his closest rival Richard Haineault (H-2 Miss Beauharnois).

Andrew Tate is down on his luck

It was a frustrating weekend for Andrew Tate who could not get the GP-101 Fat Chance Too to start in the finals. The unfortunate event came after Tate had earned the inner lane after winning two qualifications and finishing in second place in the third one. His DNS benefited Bert Henderson (GP-777 Steeler) who, from the 4th lane, flew past Eric Langevin (GP-12 Long Shot) and never looked back.

There was a string of bad luck amongst the Quebec drivers, including Martin Rochon who could not take part in the final because both motors on the GP-77 Coppertone failed the day before. Bertrand Dulude (GP-48 Zero Gravity) did not race all weekend, while Mathieu Daoust (GP-9 Ameublement N Lalonde) forfeited the consolation finals, out of engine to use. Pierre Maheu also had to bow out of the consolation heat because of damages to the motor on Ken Brodie’s GP-50 Intensity. Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy) came close to getting into the final during the consolation, but Tom Thompson crossed the finish line before him in the wooden boat GP-525 Fat Chance.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/6/29/echos-des-regates-de-saint-felicien.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Nouvelles

13528183_1362646493751012_6744630654713850049_o

Par Denis Bourbonnais

Les 11e Régates de Saint-Félicien (depuis le retour de l’événement) ont donné lieu à des courses enlevantes dans les quatre classes au programme, plus particulièrement dans les épreuves consolations et les finales. Voici quelques nouvelles émanant de la compétition qui constituait la 3e étape de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes (HRL) en 2016.

Philippe Billette se démarque

Dans la classe 2,5 litres, Philippe Billette impressionne à bord du S-7 Air Speed et il a remporté deux qualifications à Saint-Félicien en plus de finir 2e en finale. Il s’agissait d’un second podium de suite pour le Campivallensien qui occupe le 3e rang au championnat.

Samuel Tremblay (S-5) a gagné deux courses à Saint-Félicien pour porter sa fiche à 7 victoires en 8 départs à l’issue des deux premières vagues de qualification. Des problèmes de pompe à essence l’ont toutefois contraint à l’abandon dans l’épreuve 3B et l’ont relégué à la 7e place dans la finale.

Kevin Smith, qui effectuait un retour après avoir pris une année sabbatique, a remporté la finale consolation devant Eric McKenna avant de décrocher la 3e position en finale à bord du S-26 Dream Weaver.

Yan Beaupré s’approche

Ce n’est plus qu’une question de temps avant que Yan Beaupré enlève les honneurs d’une finale dans la classe Formule 2500. À Saint-Félicien, le pilote du F-36 Yancy a obtenu deux résultats de 1ère place et une 2e position dans les qualifications. Dans la course ultime, il a mené pendant plus de 3 tours avant que Donald Leduc parvienne à passer dans le couloir intérieur pour éventuellement lui ravir la victoire. Beaupré s’était fait jouer le même coup par Rob Stevenson à Beauharnois l’an dernier.

Tyler Kaddatz a pour sa part aligné un 2e podium consécutif au volant du F-519 Ah Sum Secret. Le pilote de Brockville (Ontario) a remporté une épreuve consolation excitante au possible face à Yves Villeneuve (F-6 Graf-X), l’écart n’étant que de 19 centièmes de seconde au fil d’arrivée. En finale, Kaddatz a terminé 3e après avoir pris le 2e rang à Long Sault. Jean-François Latour a fait une embardée lors des qualifications de samedi et il a pu revenir dimanche sans la carlingue du F-8 FBL Spécial, qui était une perte totale.

Victoire de Louis Allard

Louis Allard, à sa 2e saison sur le circuit HRL, a réalisé une première quand il a mené son H-4 Big Decision à la victoire dans la qualification 1D de samedi à Saint-Félicien. Michel Raymond, de son côté, a connu un excellent week-end dans le H-71 M2K avec des résultats de 1ère, 3e et 2e position en qualification avant de finir 5e dans la finale. Dans la course 3D, Raymond et Nicolas Rousse se sont livrés une bataille à finir, la marge entre les deux pilotes n’étant que de 31 centièmes de seconde à l’arrivée.

Jimmy King a atteint la perfection à «Saint-Fé» avec 4 gains en autant de courses dans le H-12 Pleasure Seekers. Le vétéran pilote du Michigan est d’ailleurs invaincu en 5 départs cette saison. Pour des raisons professionnelles, le propriétaire Roger Mahan ne sera pas à Brockville et il ne pourra inscrire son embarcation à tous les événements en 2016.

Le H-12 est attendu seulement à Valleyfield et Tonawanda (N.Y.), ce qui place Nicolas Rousse favori pour gagner le championnat des points aux commandes du H-225 Harley Davidson Valleyfield. Avant les Régates de Brockville, Rousse détient une avance de 46 points sur Richard Haineault (H-2 Miss Beauharnois) en tête du classement.

Andrew Tate joue de malchance

Dans la classe Grand Prix, Andrew Tate a vécu la frustration de ne jamais pouvoir démarrer le GP-101 Fat Chance Too dans la finale après avoir mis la main sur le couloir intérieur en vertu de deux gains et une 2e position lors des qualifications. Son «DNS» a ouvert la porte à Bert Henderson (GP-777 Steeler) qui, du 4e corridor, a pu rattraper Eric Langevin (GP-12 Long Shot) pour filer vers la victoire.

Les pilotes québécois n’ont pas eu de veine, dont Martin Rochon qui n’a pu conduire le GP-777 Coppertone dimanche en raison des dommages subis par deux moteurs la veille. Bertrand Dulude (GP-48 Zero Gravity) n’a pas été en mesure de s’élancer une fois au départ alors que Mathieu Daoust (GP-9 Ameublement N. Lalonde) a déclaré forfait pour la finale consolation, faute de moteur en état de rouler. Pierre Maheu a également dû s’absenter de la «conso» à la suite des dommages encaissés par le moteur du GP-50 Intensity de Ken Brodie. Mario Blain (GP-757 Canada Boy) est venu près de se qualifier pour la finale lors de la consolation et c’est plutôt Tom Thompson qui a été l’élu grâce à sa victoire dans le bateau de bois GP-525 Fat Chance.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/6/29/echos-des-regates-de-saint-felicien.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité